The Violet Fern

A Colorful Tale of a Garden in the Making

2010:1 Canada Red

8 Comments

So, come Spring here’s number one on my list of things to do. Prepare this little spot and plant my rhubarb patch. I have decided on the variety ‘Canada Red’ and I will order it from Vesey’s out of Canada – should be hardy enough and it is supposed to be nice and sweet. These will be starter plants. I read that you shouldn’t plant rhubarb from seed unless you live south. I’ll agree with that. Apparently, it will take a couple of years before I will be able to harvest, but I can wait. If I see just one of those beautiful, large, green leaves this season, that’ll do it for me. Here’s the spot:

Previously this was a little patch that I sort of let grow “wild” and never mowed. But not much of interest has sprouted up. My “intuition” tells me this will be a perfect spot for Rhubarb and those lush, giant eaves should detract from the compost “bins” (to the right) and hide that blessed chain link fence. There is a patch of wild mint growing here that I will save. I think I’ll underplant with some strawberries. Strawberries and rhubarb just go together, don’t you think? We will see if my “intuition” is in tune come summer.

Author: Kathy Sturr

Cultivating art, growing soul, and creating plant-based food in the beautiful 1000 Islands, New York and Cedar Key, Old Florida.

8 thoughts on “2010:1 Canada Red

  1. I have never eaten rhubarb. One of my sons is sitting nearby – he says he has eaten it. I asked him what it tastes like and he said "very vegetablely". If I can find some, I will try it!

  2. I think that rhubarb is a very handsome ornamental plant as well as yummy! I love it when mine gets the flower stalks (although I think that you are not supposed to let them do that).

  3. You can't beat rhubarb for ease and versatility. Hope it grows well for you. Are you getting a ton of snow?Rosey

  4. My Mom used to grow rhubarb, but I've never tried it. I've heard of some delicious sounding desserts with it. I really like how it looks too.

  5. I love using plants to disguise parts of my garden. I hope the rhubarb does well, come spring.

  6. Yay..enjoy your new treat!Rhubarb is a lovely one to enjoy!

  7. Rhubarb sounds like a wonderful and delicious idea! My mother used to make a delicious Rhubarb Crunch – which I had forgotten about until I read your post. It was wonderful. I can't think of anything better to add to a rhubarb patch than some strawberries! 🙂

  8. Thank you so much for all your comments. It makes me smile to bring back memories for some of you. My mom always made – and I will have to get her recipe – a strawberry, rhubarb upside down cake – yum! You are not supposed to let rhubarb flower so the energy stays in the stalk but I think I can the first year because now I just have to see what the flower looks like! That is, if it flowers the first year.

Thank you for joining me in the making of my garden!

