The Violet Fern

A Colorful Tale of a Garden in the Making

First Spring Blooms 2010

6 Comments

Last year I marked on my calendar that my first crocus bloomed March 25. This year my first crocus bloomed March 17!

I love the brilliance of these white petals against
the velvety leaves of the lamb’s ears.
 Like drops of sunshine they pushed through the mulch and leaves.
Peek-a-boo through the thyme.
The bees found these first blooms among sedum angelina irresistible.
I love reticulated iris and so does this bee.
Each fall I will plant more and more bulbs. It sure makes for a wonderful surprise come a long awaited spring. This year I plan to add snowdrops, scilla, more crocus and reticulated iris.
Author: Kathy Sturr

Cultivating art, growing soul, and creating plant-based food in the beautiful 1000 Islands, New York and Cedar Key, Old Florida.

6 thoughts on “First Spring Blooms 2010

  1. How great to be 8 days early this year! It is always interesting to see when plants begin to sprout/bloom. Your crocus are lovely 🙂

  2. The lambs ear really does set the stage for the blooms! The iris sports a fantastic color combo that I can't resist!

  3. This year I am really noticing the fact that I don't have any crocuses planted in my garden — something I intend to remedy. Thanks for sharing yours. -Jean

  4. Our winter lasted longer than usual here, which prevented premature blooming, then being zapped by late frosts. So that is a good thing. It is exciting to see those first buds and blooms!

  5. happy crocuses!! they are just such a perfect little bloom of joy to usher in spring. i love the mix with them against the sedum.

  6. I'm so glad you enjoyed these blooms. I do need more crocus, more iris, more spring blooms … more, more, more! Ha!

Thank you for joining me in the making of my garden!

