The Violet Fern

A Colorful Tale of a Garden in the Making

The Bee and Butterfly

2 Comments

The grackles are gone. I am keeping my humming bird feeders full but their visits are less frantic and less frequent. Last year I wrote on my calendar that by the 12th of September they had left. It is much cooler and leaves are beginning to collect on the ground. I meant to post this short video at some point and I think now is a good time. Just a moment to remember the bee and butterfly. Here, a White Admiral Butterfly and Bumblebee enjoying Joe Pye Weed.

Author: Kathy Sturr

Cultivating art, growing soul, and creating plant-based food in the beautiful 1000 Islands, New York and Cedar Key, Old Florida.

2 thoughts on “The Bee and Butterfly

  1. There seems to be a lot of Grackles this year. I stopped putting bird seed out too for a while due to the Grackles and Crows. I can hear the Grackles in your bee video.Heather

  2. Fun! I love the contrast to the way each harvests nectar . . . and pollen too. I have not seen an Admiral this year. I am watching a hummer going to and from fading hosta blooms. They will be leaving here soon.

Thank you for joining me in the making of my garden!

