The Violet Fern

A Colorful Tale of a Garden in the Making

What’s Blooming: Meltdown

9 Comments

As I walk around the house this morning I remember, it’s Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day, hosted by Carol at May Dreams Gardens each month. Hmm, do I have anything blooming? The Poinsettia still looks beautiful. Just as fresh as it did in early December but I want to see something different – ditto Christmas Cactus, Paperwhites – compost. My violets were blooming! Ah, but now they aren’t quite. My orchids look better, seem to be adjusting to their new space but not yet sending up any spikes. The Amaryllis Evergreen is growing but not fast enough.

So, I walk outside on the now frozen oozes of mud preface of our January meltdown, with snow in the forecast once again. Around the not blooming garden, I puff in the crisp morning air and register ah ha, but there is blossoming beauty to behold. What do I see? Tanned husks, pale plumes of Miscanthus ‘Morning Light,’ petrified embers of Panicum ‘Dallas Blues’ remarkably standing tall, blossoming in spite of the once heavy snow load.

Morning Light Plumes

Dallas Blues Blooms Jan

Garlic Chive umbrellas alight over evergreen Germander.

Garlic Chive Seeds

Dripping color – rosy red and dark violet prunes of rose hips.

Rose Hips Jan

Spongy pinks and delicious, peachy tones of Heuchera ‘Caramel’ soaking in the sun.

Heuchera 'Caramel' in Jan

A lily pod dripping gold.

Lily Pod

Clusters of veined Maple butterflies resting their wings.

Maple Seeds

A lone Hydrangea Snowball tumbling over a stubborn patch of snow. Can you hear the whistling wind?

Dried Hydrangea Bloom

Winter is knocking again, but I dream of Summer, happy hour in my secret garden spot – my mental meltdown preventative. What will bloom (or will I go boom) come February?

dreamingofspring

Author: Kathy Sturr

Cultivating art, growing soul, and creating plant-based food in the beautiful 1000 Islands, New York and Cedar Key, Old Florida.

9 thoughts on “What’s Blooming: Meltdown

  1. Lovely photos!
    Happy Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day!
    Lea
    Lea’s Menagerie

  2. Discoveries in the winter garden, always something interesting to see. Happy Bloom Day. I misjudged the timing on forced hyacinths so they’re taking up where others left off.

  3. Happy New Year Kathy! Congratulations on the new blog, it looks fabulous! Cheers to a great new growing season 🙂

  4. Kathy we warmed this past weekend to the low 60s and our 4 ft of snow is gone..one snowdrop was under all that snow. Now it is getting colder and we are headed for the arctic freeze…winter still has us in her grip. I love your winter blooms.

    • Ah, yes I saw your picture of the little Snowdrop (Facebook?) and again, I must plant some of these in my garden. What a great surprise for the New Year! I think it’s looking bright.

  5. I love that “Dallas Blues” photo. Looks like you lost most of your snow cover in the January thaw. I was happy to retain a few inches here (and then a few more inches fell on top of that) because we seem to be getting back to more typical January temperatures. Thanks for that evocative image of summer at the end.

  6. Often more beauty is in what comes after the bloom. Lovely post.

Thank you for joining me in the making of my garden!

