The Violet Fern

A Colorful Tale of a Garden in the Making

What’s Blooming: Early Spring 2013

2 Comments

Yesterday was warm and sunny – that’s right, I said warm and sunny! What a perfect day to celebrate Garden Bloggers Bloom Day hosted by Carol at May Dreams Garden! And I did celebrate – out in the garden, not on my computer. I did take a few photos of the early blooming spring bulbs that are emerging. To my surprise a few seemed to appear out of thin air just after I posted at Donna’s Gardens Eye View that my Chionodoxa weren’t blooming yet. There’s one in every crowd. Let me share with you as the “Winds of April” roar on – our brief respite is over. Today is better spent inside.

Early snow crocus are in full bloom.

yellow snow crocus spring 13

purple and yellow snow crocus spring 13

I love the luminescence of crocus ‘Blue Pearl.’

blue pearl crocus spring 13

Scilla ‘Spring Beauty’ are just beginning to bloom.

scilla 'spring beauty' spring 13

scilla 'spring beauty' in bloom spring 13

One of my favorites, reticulated Iris ‘Cantab.’ I need to plant more of these.

reticulated iris 'cantab' spring 13

And here’s the stand out in the crowd, the sneaky Chionodoxa that I said wasn’t blooming yet. I have many of these scattered throughout the garden but this is the only one that I see blooming at the moment.

chionodoxa spring 13

 

Hmm, I think big, fat rabbit has been dining on some of my blooms! So it begins. Even his big, fat appetite won’t be able to keep up with spring’s onset.

Author: Kathy Sturr

Author of the Violet Fern blog, artist, and master gardener.

2 thoughts on “What’s Blooming: Early Spring 2013

  1. Kathy I am so glad your blooms showed up…it seems so many are coming all at once since you were still getting winter last week…our gardens are starting to pick up speed now!

  2. Magnificent photos of the crocus!
    Hope you are having a wonderful day!
    Lea
    Lea’s Menagerie

Thank you for joining me in the making of my garden!

