The Violet Fern

A Colorful Tale of a Garden in the Making

Caught in the Act

5 Comments

Just the other day I caught this Squash Borer Moth laying eggs on my patty pan squash and cucumbers! I did not know what it was at the time but did observe her laying eggs on the stems of both (not underneath the leaves).

squashborermoth

The eggs match the color of this moth! They are tiny red discs the size of a pin prick. I picked off what eggs I could see on the stems with a tweezers after observing her for awhile. Her wings were clear though dark in color, and in flight she reminded me of a Hawk Moth so I looked up clearwing in the index of my Kaufman Field Guide to Insects of North America to narrow down my search.

I can’t say that I was happy to meet this moth in my cucumber and squash patch which, so far, amazingly has survived the ravenous appetites of the rabbit herd. On the other hand, I am always happy to come across a new sighting in my garden and one that I feel fairly confident in identifying. Squash Borer Moth will be added to my insect sighting list.

Author: Kathy Sturr

Author of the Violet Fern blog, artist, and master gardener.

5 thoughts on “Caught in the Act

  1. I hope not to see her in my garden…

  2. What a great “catch”! Squash bugs are my great nemesis in the vegetable garden; I’ve heard of squash vine borers, of course, but I’ve never seen an adult before. So glad you shared the picture – I love to learn insects that are new to me.

  3. I am so amazed! You caught the squash vine borer moth doing what they do–that is incredible. Everytime I have one visit my squash patch they are so quick when I try to destroy them in midair! I was sure this year it would not lay any eggs, but boy was I wrong. The first time I saw one in my garden I thought it was an interesting moth, but soon after once I learned what they became in my squash patch—I was not so amazed to see them flying by-lol Robbie:-)

Thank you for joining me in the making of my garden!

