The Violet Fern

A Colorful Tale of a Garden in the Making

The Fallout

3 Comments

Well, here it is FALL. Fall began with nearly two days of down pouring rain. Enough to make everything soggy, heavy, and FLOP.  I could barely navigate my Potager before the rains and after the big flop fallout, a clear cut path was not to be found. I just don’t have the heart to cut down those last beautiful blooms of Mexican Sunflowers and gigantic Marigolds and add them to the compost heap, but I need to clean up and whip the garden into some sort of shape before winter or my spring clean up will be way too overwhelming. That decides it: chop but eureka! How about an outdoor bouquet? I have some beautiful crocks my mother gave me that promptly filled with rain and have been full ever since. The birds have taken to this accidental water cooler but it is now a beautiful fall bouquet.

marigolds in crock

I have an extra large watering can, too – another bouquet? Why not?

mexican sunflowers in can

There, instant fall decorating born from the fallout. Welcome FALL.

Author: Kathy Sturr

Author of the Violet Fern blog, artist, and master gardener.

3 thoughts on “The Fallout

  1. That is PERFECT! I have been thinking the same thing lately, but the bees are still visting my “floppy” plants..so can’t cut them yet here in zone 5…but in the next few weeks, I will follow your solution…a big bouquet! 🙂 great idea

  2. I know, I feel so guilty cutting any blooms this late in the season as the bees are still busy! But the bouquets are outside so they can still visit. I also feel guilty about the tomatillos all over the Potager ground! I’m going to have lots of volunteers next year!

  3. Kathy these are great…I am starting to clean up the veg gardens and empty the containers…glorious weather this week.

Thank you for joining me in the making of my garden!

