The Violet Fern

A Colorful Tale of a Garden in the Making

What’s Blooming: Cabin Fever Violets

14 Comments

Well, it is another dark day of Winter here in North Country and the snow globe has been shaken. Just when things were beginning to melt! At least now everything looks “fresh.” Whoop dee doo.

Though I still find peace in the beauty of a fresh snowfall, and it might do me good, I am not venturing out there into the garden where I am sure some terrific captures of seed heads stacked with flaky snow await. I am sick of “snow skating” the uneven, icy, lumpy, terrain just to have my foot break through the crusty surface into muck and noticing yet another pile of dog doo. I’m tired of “penguin shuffling” in thick socks, puffy coat, static-cling-hat, and waddling mittens then forgetting something inside … like my “boat drink” yes, waitress I need two more boat drinks … I need to go where it’s warm. Yeah, Jimmy.

Today I am settling for whatever is blooming indoors. I did not plant any bulbs this year and I never properly rested my Amaryllis from last year so I will have to see if there is anything blooming among the houseplant masses. Violets! (Of course, you would expect the author of the Violet Fern blog to own a few violets, wouldn’t you?) With their fuzzy round leaves and dainty, glittering blooms they should induce cheer but sigh, to me the leaves look dusty and some look downright “tired” and should be clipped off.

turtleviolet

stripedviolet

moreviolets

My Phalaenopsis Moth Orchid is sending up a spike but I am not as thrilled as last year. Last year the flower buds fell off before blooming (I’ve yet to research the cause). I am still struggling with my Orchids. Sigh.

orchid

The Christmas Cactus is still blooming also in this table top garden. These shocking pink blooms are bright and merry and should really lift my spirits but, sigh, they don’t.

tablegarden

These are symptoms of Cabin Fever and we are only half way through January! Yesterday, scratching the surface of Botany in the Master Gardener class, we were shown a short Nova documentary entitled First Flower. I never really thought about what and where the first flower bloomed. It is yet unknown, but what amazed me is the amount of plants in our gardens that originated from the Hengduan Mountains of China as shown in the documentary. Seeing all those flowers really made me long for Spring. I just may order some plants to cheer myself up!

“We can have flowers nearly every month of the year” – Carol of May Dreams Gardens quotes Elizabeth Lawrence. And so she now hosts Garden Bloggers Bloom Day on the 15th of each month to prove it. If you need some flower-cheer-me-up be sure to visit bloggers around the world who celebrate this day.

Author: Kathy Sturr

Cultivating art, growing soul, and creating plant-based food in the beautiful 1000 Islands, New York and Cedar Key, Old Florida.

14 thoughts on “What’s Blooming: Cabin Fever Violets

  1. I am so with the “blah” feeling this year too….

    You have a gift for writing:-) LOVED this

    “penguin shuffling” in thick socks, puffy coat, static-cling-hat, and waddling mittens then forgetting something inside … like my “boat drink” yes, waitress I need two more boat drinks … I need to go where it’s warm. Yeah, Jimmy”….:-)

    You just said what I was feeling today. We have sun today, but I agree:-)

    “Though I still find peace in the beauty of a fresh snowfall, and it might do me good, I am not venturing out there into the garden where I am sure some terrific captures of seed heads stacked with flaky snow await. I am sick of “snow skating” the uneven, icy, lumpy, terrain just to have my foot break through the crusty surface into muck and noticing yet another pile of dog doo.”

    Thank you for sharing a great post to help me define my feelings about this weather. I would rather sort pictures from summer past then go outside and TRY to “capture” a winter photo…I just feel the same way this year, maybe it is because it started too soon all this white stuff + ice + freezing below zero weather!

    Maybe I have to be more like you and grow more plants inside ( love your indoor plants), but I sort of stink at house plants for some reason-lol.
    Spring is around the corner, it was light out at 5:00 pm yesterday!

    • Thank you Robbie – you are too kind. It was actually light here at 5pm! I just took Mojo to the park – I worked up to it all day, ha, and finally got out. He loves to run so I feel guilty if I don’t. I should have made a big poop run yesterday but I didn’t and now it is frozen and covered up again. These are the dirty sides of Winter, eh, that aren’t portrayed in advertising. I can’t believe you “stink” at house plants. I used to have way more lush house plants but then became too busy or too lazy – now they sort of limp along. It’s more fun having plants outside isn’t it?

      • Yes it is more fun outside. Maybe it is because the 3 cats my middle daughter rescued eat plants-lol:-) or maybe I just want a rest in the winter from plants since I spend so much time outside taking care of plants.
        My oldest daughter is so amazing with plants. She grows orchids, so I have been eyeing them for a bit asking her off and on, “Are they easy to grow” since she has them all over her apartment in UK. She keeps telling me they are easy, so I may try them one day:-)

  2. oh, forgot to mention, I am having my “penquin shuffling” moments picking up frozen dog doo! It is getting old here…and yesterday I was shoveling it since it has been frozen for months!”

  3. Beautiful blooms! And what a cute little turtle, too!
    Flowers first bloomed when God told the plants to bring forth seed. Sometimes scientists are so highly educated, they find it hard to believe the simple explanations for the way things are.
    Happy Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day!
    Lea

    • Thank you Lea. I love the little turtle, too. It belonged to my husband’s parents and was going to be sold (before they moved to Florida – sigh), and I asked for it. It makes a great plant platform. I like your first flower explanation! There is magic (God?) in a flower – I always see it but especially since we dissected one in class yesterday – all the parts fit so perfectly.

  4. I certainly don’t blame you for not wanting to venture outdoors – far too much rigmarole in getting out there! Your violets are very pretty.
    I hope your spirits are lifted soon enough – Happy Bloom Day 🙂

    • Thank you Angie. I did manage to make it outside today – it helps – my cute dog Mojo loves to run so I brought him to the park. It makes me happier just to see him so happy running along.

  5. You’ll probably think me very lazy for not wanting to venture out with the temperatures we’re having. I love violets and used to grow them but now there’s nobody to look after them when I’m away so I don’t anymore.

    • Not at all! I didn’t make it out there today – another day of falling snow and grey skies. I am still in my pajamas – ready for bed. THAT is lazy! Ha! My goal is to become a migrating snow bird so I have to figure out what I will do with all my houseplants and the fish tank.

  6. Pretty African Violets! I’ve got a couple but they’ve only bloomed once..maybe they’re mad at me for almost killing them!? 🙂 I’m a reluctant indoor gardener….I have a bay tree that I drag out in the spring and in in the late fall by choice. The other house plants, given to me by friends, guilt me into bringing them in. 🙂 We’re going to be around 50 degrees here today before the cold front comes sweeping back in, so I’m hoping to get outside for a nature “fix”…if the wind would cooperate and calm down! 🙂

  7. Frozen poop! Ugh! I do so sympathise with your endless winter. I hate all that bundling up just to step outside and the ‘penguin shuffling’- a lovely image. And a monochrome world with no flowers is so sad.
    Chloris

  8. dear Kathy, find solace and warmth with your indoor nature hoard. I don’t envy you the cold and dark and so much snow, but if I had to choose between squishy and frozen dog poop …

  9. Catching up and what a delight to see what folks grow indoors…I have never been very successful with A violets….yours look wonderful!

Thank you for joining me in the making of my garden!

