The Violet Fern

A Colorful Tale of a Garden in the Making

Tip Toe Round the Tulip Tree

3 Comments

Once again I am joining Loose and Leafy for Follow A Tree. Not much has changed with my Tulip Tree over this past month – the buds are not unfurling into the beautiful leaves I imagined opening already. The warm sunshine I imagined didn’t happen either, but the snow has finally melted all around it! You may see a few patches in the background but last month this was all snow.

tuliptreeapril

Finally. It was 50 degrees today! And now my dog’s toilet garden is a soggy mess. I spent the day outside tip toeing around my little Tulip Tree, admiring the bird song and picking up pounds of dog poop branches. I was finally able to move the large branch that fell from my neighbor’s Silver Maple during the ice storm in December 2013 –  that thankfully missed falling on the Tulip Tree. I contemplate that one day I will be picking up branches from the Tulip Tree come Spring as they are known to drop a few during winds and storms.

tuliptreeleader

The leader is proud and nearly as tall as our 6′ fence. I should measure its height as I think this is the year it will leap! It is currently 57 inches tall.

tulip tree buds

I still cannot seem to get a good capture of the buds – too much movement and background. I tried to hold a branch in my hand and still work the camera with the other – I am not that coordinated.

sunshinecrocus

Things will begin happening fast now that we have warmer weather. It was nice this morning but is raining now – good for the Tulip Tree. I will hold on to the image of what I am calling a sunshine Crocus I spotted out front. I noticed a few more around the Pin Oak. Blooms! Buds have to follow suit.

Author: Kathy Sturr

Cultivating art, growing soul, and creating plant-based food in the beautiful 1000 Islands, New York and Cedar Key, Old Florida.

3 thoughts on “Tip Toe Round the Tulip Tree

  1. Oh, How I can relate to your “dog toilet”…lol-which it always is once the snow melts. I usually try to keep it picked up,but there comes a time( during the winter) when I just don’t want to venture out anymore, and wait till my own “pounds” of dog poop pile up!!….oh I can’t even believe I am discussing this, but it is so true! I put out my snow peas last week + no one has eaten anything. Today I put out my cole crops I had hardend off with spring flowers, so we shall see if they make it through the night. I did notice a few crocus, reticulated iris, but did not take any pictures yet since I was too busy with cleaning out my beds:-) spring is finally here!

  2. Oh, I need to plant my peas!!! Time is running out. I made the mistake of not cleaning up where I am going to grow peas last Fall – this has added to my delay along with the weather – but I think now the snow has finally melted! Yay Spring! I just planted up my tomato, eggplant and pepper seeds yesterday. It is so exciting. Glad no one has eaten anything you have placed out. I am going to work on a fence for the Potager this year. I am afraid I have created the perfect rabbit habitat so I have to learn to live with the cute little bunnies.

  3. I look forward to seeing this tree grow…I do not know much about it.

Thank you for joining me in the making of my garden!

