The Violet Fern

A Colorful Tale of a Garden in the Making

What’s Blooming: Hocus Pocus Crocus

17 Comments

Wow, a few warm days, a little sun and “hocus pocus” we have Crocus! It’s magic. This morning the sun is gone and fog has drizzled in.

longshot

Persistent Daffodils, now growing a couple of inches a day, force their way through Winter’s whipped grasses.

fogandfire

Fire and fog

The Crocus are drenched in dew and not even open – in anticipation of the snow in today’s forecast? But still their blooms exclaim and dot the garden. Maybe Mr. Rabbit and I are reaching an understanding as these have yet to be eaten.

hocus

pocus

whitecrocus

I just commented on Donna’s garden at Gardens Eye View – she has so much blooming and is not that far from me geographically – and now I must eat my words as I, too, have more going on than I thought! Glory of the Snow, Chionodoxa luciliae is blooming throughout the garden even in places where I’ve yet to clean up.

gloryofthesnow

Glory of the Snow or Glory of the Obedient Stalks?

I cleaned up the Potager first so I could plant at every opportunity (the peas are finally sown!), but I haven’t cleaned up much else of the garden as it is water logged. Let’s just say the ground squishes beneath the garden clogs. I managed to get to this small area of the Woodland Edge yesterday before more rain because the Nodding Onions are poking their way through and upon closer inspection, (please ignore the Creeping Charlie) Scilla siberica ‘Spring Beauty.’

cleanup

scilla

To my surprise my Daffodils have blooms(!) though they are still under wrap. They grow right before my eyes – inches a day. I swear they were just tiny nubs last I looked!

daffyforsythy

Daffodils beneath the monster Forsythia

daffodilblooms

Daffodil blooms still tightly under wrap

I should really map my bulbs as I have a few things coming up that I am not sure of. This may be a Woodland Tulip.

woodlandtulip

I am surprised to see tulips emerging. I’m not sure what variety this is.

tulip

Out front the first of the Reticulated Iris blooms right through the Russian Sage.

firstreticulatediris

Last Fall I finally planted some Snowdrops and thought oh, I will look for those right away! But I could not predict last December’s ice storm and the glacial drifts that burdened the garden. This poor Snowdrop looks crushed! I hope it forms a nice clump one day.

crushedsnowdrop

I am anticipating the first Service Berry, Amelanchier laevis blooms. They look ready.

serviceberrybloom

I will be so deflated if it snows and sticks after this morning’s walk (no socks!) through the gardens and the sight of all these happenings on Garden Blogger’s Bloom Day. Another gracious thank you to Carol of May Dreams Gardens for hosting.

Author: Kathy Sturr

Cultivating art, growing soul, and creating plant-based food in the beautiful 1000 Islands, New York and Cedar Key, Old Florida.

17 thoughts on “What’s Blooming: Hocus Pocus Crocus

  1. It has been a long cold winter here and so far only the snowdrops have been brave enough to bloom. However, the tiny Early garden in front of the house is fully thawed and ready for planting. Peas and lettuce anyway. Spring is coming.

    • Well, Spring better come or the natural order of things is amiss and that would be very bad! It is not like Spring today here but at least we do not have more s*** on the ground. I am glad you are witnessing some thaw. You’ll be enjoying fresh peas in your salad soon I hope!

  2. Hi Kathy,
    Taking a walk to see what is coming up and blooming is one of my great delights in the spring. I love those early spring flowers! Happy Bloom Day!

    • Hi Linnae, taking a walk through my garden is my most favorite thing of just about everyday now that the s*** has melted. Sometimes I even trudge the s*** to get a fix. It is right back to cold temperatures here today but I may go out there anyway and do a little more clean up. It was a happy bloom day – thanks so much.

  3. I wish I can have crocus in my gardens. Do you have any squirrels? Something is eating the crocus bulbs in my garden. I will try them in the lawn this fall and see what happens. Happy spring!

    • Hi Daniela, I have squirrels, chipmunks and rabbits. Sometimes a skunk moseys through but I sure don’t want Mojo (my Dood) to meet up with him or her! I found that if I used bulb fertilizer the skunk (or munk) would dig up all my bulbs – the smell must be attractive – so I stopped using fertilizer and all my bulbs stay buried. (I just compost now.) Perhaps you have voles? They will eat bulbs. Donna at Gardens Eye View just posted recently about the damage her voles wielded over this Winter and also which bulbs seemed to be unappetizing.

  4. I would excuse your creeping Charlie if I knew who or what he is.
    Your garden still looks so wet; your poor plants have had a lot to put up with. That snowdrop looks thoroughly depressed. Still it is amazing how resilient they are. Soon it will be spring for you, presumably it’s not been cancelled altogether this year.
    Here we seem to be racing prematurely into summer.

    • Creeping Charlie is an obnoxious weed that creeps into all my beds from the lawn. It is nearly impossible to get rid of much less control. I have difficulty weeding it in this spot because it is entwined with the Creeping Jenny – some would also call her obnoxious, but I like her – and don’t want to rip her out. She turns the most beautiful shade of lime green come Spring and pops against the Blue Amsonia. I know, I feel so bad for that Snowdrop but she was under a heavy layer of ice topped with several feet of snow. It’s amazing she even emerged from the ground. I’m sure Mojo my big Dood probably added insult to injury by stepping on her, too. I’ll give her a dose of compost and fresh mulch. Poor baby.

  5. Kathy, I hope you didn’t get more snow — or if you did that it melted quickly like April snows tend to do. I’m also delighted to see that you finally have some blooms. I’m going to Maine this weekend to do spring clean-up in my garden there; it will be interesting to see what I find. It really is spring, even if nasty old winter doesn’t want to accept defeat.

    • Well Jean, we did get more snow but thankfully none stuck around. It’s still quite cool, though and one can still feel the sting of the cold North wind. Will it ever warm up? I miss Maine! I’m so excited for your return. I’m sure you’ll find much is happening. It is Spring – there is no stopping it. Winter will have to let go. The ice on the River this year is eerily beautiful. Big sheets keep floating down from the lake overnight and then by evening the River flows free, then overnight more ice floats in. The freighters are off to a rocky start this year but the channel markers are in – a sure sign that Spring is open for business!

  6. I’ll ignore your creeping charlie if you ignore mine! I hope your understanding with the rabbits lasts, in my experience they are greedy little rodents. I like your glory of the snow, I’m thinking I may plant some this fall.

    • Oh, my battle with the rabbits is just beginning! I am going to have to install a fence around the Potager so I can have my kale, chard and lettuce. I know they are a hungry herd. I have a spray to try in the meantime and I will post about its effectiveness. Glory of the Snow is rabbit resistant and it is lovely – especially if it is not forced to come up through the Winter carnage.

  7. I had a very hard time about the approach of winter last fall, wanted to go garden in New Zealand where spring was beginning, I sympathize with you where winter will not release its grip. It’s good to see the bulbs coming up anyway. I just planted Snowdrops last year so mine are not gorgeous clumps yet but maybe some day.

    • Thank you Hannah. Next year my husband and I already have booked a place in a warmer climate for 2 mos! New Zealand sounds lovely! I have reached my tolerance for snow, wind and cold – the Winter here is just too **** long. It is still a chilly 30 degrees here this morning but I am hoping for dining al fresco soon …

  8. Kathy you are too funny…our gardens grow so fast it is hard to keep up. I can’t clean the back gardens due to the squishing but I have to get to more of it before too long. I had to squish over to the veg beds to plant today. So much keeps popping up including weeds now.

  9. Hi Kathy, First, thank you for your very kind comment on my own blog! I love your first photo of the foggy morning. I have always thought fog creates the most wonderful mood, and I wish I had more opportunities to shoot pictures in the fog. I am glad you are finally seeing some signs of spring! With daffodils coming up, it won’t be long and it will be impossible to keep up with the daily changes. But I don’t think I could deal with the very long winter you have!

  10. wow..you are up and running now!!! Beautiful plants are a blooming or starting too:-) Well, I missed your posts the past week…I have been in the soil + cleaning like mad all around me! Creeping Charlie is something I have learned to live with because I agree it really never does go away. I can clean an entire area and one week later it just starts up again! I cleared it out the other day from my strawberry patch, but I still find one I missed:-( I finally realized that it does have some good traits, hold on…it provides food for the bees in early spring. I don’t mind it as much anymore because I don’t believe I will ever get rid of it completely. They bees like it , so if I can keep it out of some beds I have learned to ignore it:-)
    I sure hope your peas do well. I have had bad luck this year. I started them and they were doing great until something was munching on the leaves. I was sitting out one day and realized it was the little finches! I have to cover my stuff with netting in the spring because the critters want my spring greens!

Thank you for joining me in the making of my garden!

