The Violet Fern

A Colorful Tale of a Garden in the Making

Rare Bird Sighting

4 Comments

Practically right in my backyard – not my garden – but close by! I am always interested in bird sightings and thought I would share this one with you click here since it may be the first time this bird has been spotted in NY since 1876! Be sure to click on the link to hear this bird’s call.

 

Author: Kathy Sturr

Cultivating art, growing soul, and creating plant-based food in the beautiful 1000 Islands, New York and Cedar Key, Old Florida.

4 thoughts on “Rare Bird Sighting

  1. Now that is just really COOL!!!!

  2. Is the one in the video making the call the same bird? really a “wow” bird!!!

    • Yes Robbie, in the video it is in its summer colors. It is a cool bird and I wish I would have gone to the Pt. Peninsula to see it live – possibly. I think it has moved on as there haven’t been any recent sightings. We really do have some amazing water birds in this area. I saw a few Pintail Ducks right off the village dock the other day!

  3. How very cool to see such a rare bird.

Thank you for joining me in the making of my garden!

