The Violet Fern

A Colorful Tale of a Garden in the Making

What’s Boom Boom Blooming

10 Comments

It is mayhem around here. With the new gardening jobs I have neglected my own which I vowed wouldn’t happen! This weekend is for my garden no matter what. Besides I have a tour happening Memorial Day weekend and the place has to look good! (Insert loud, languishing scream of torment here.) Trays of plants waiting to be planted, piles of mulch and stone waiting to be dispersed and there is that lesson from last year haunting me – you will get the edging done in Spring. It heckles me every day. At least we now have a running lawnmower – we have yet to mow the lawn as it was in for repair. (Sigh) someday, there won’t be any lawn to mow.

All in all, despite my neglect, I still so enjoy my garden and things are boom-boom-blooming!

This morning's view

This morning’s view

The Serviceberry, Amelanchier Laevis, is just about done blooming – but I captured its blooms a couple days ago. I wish the blooms would last longer – maybe when the tree is older? Anyway, I am just glad I didn’t miss the first opening. It usually blossoms right around Mother’s Day and we usually travel to see Mom.

serviceberrymay2014

serviceberryblooms2014

serviceberrybloomscu2014

I love the Woodland Edge in Spring – it is my favorite with the morning sun streaming through it. There are many woodland flowers, bulbs, shrubs and understory trees (including the Serviceberry), but I still want to add more – especially some wildflower ephemerals.

Bergenia

Bergenia

 

Gravetye Giant

Gravetye Giant resembles a Snow Drop but is larger and blooms later.

fernsanddaffodils

I love pairing fern fronds and flowers.

woodlandtulip2014

Woodland Tulip

Did I mention it is very windy here today? We always seem to have wind like Wyoming. Thus, some of my flower shots are a blur. There are wild violets everywhere, but at the tip of the new Hosta Row I came across this white one. Isn’t she a beauty?

whitevioletAt the edge of the compost, a Celandine Poppy is blooming. I am not sure whether it is Chelidonium Majus (European) or Stylophorum dyphyllum (a North American native) since I do not have both to compare them side by side. These volunteered in my yard and well, a lot of invasives like to volunteer in my garden so I’m betting on Chelidonium. I’ll know for sure when the seed pods form. How do I know this? Kathy Purdy of Cold Climate Gardening recently posted on the Celandine Poppy – as usual, an excellent and informative post.

caladestinepoppyIn the Bird & Butterfly Garden my favorite Daffodil is blooming. I apologize, I don’t know the name of it, but it smells delicious!

Smells delicious!

Smells delicious!

Also blooming everywhere are the friendly forget-me-nots. I have even spied a few pink ones here and there!

forgetmenot2014

I love this combination of Forget-me-nots and Creeping Jenny.

There is a lot of flowering action out front where I don’t often go. I haven’t even finished cleaning up last years stalks but that is not stopping anyone.

frontwave2014

The front “river wave” of blooms.

miniiris

Dwarf Iris

Tulips and Creeping Phlox

Tulips and Creeping Phlox

 

Lady Jane Tulip

Lady Jane Tulip

I had visions of looking into a beautifully branched flowering tree from my front porch view (instead of into the street). This little tree has grown very fast and I can already see the tip of it from the porch. (I used to have a Cornelian Cherry here that was not happy and has since passed on, unfortunately.)

front porch view

View from front porch.

This year, this tree that I thought was a cherry but might actually be a crabapple, will be blooming! This tree started as a seedling in one of my window boxes from when I used a few branches with a beautiful red berry on them for my winter display. I thought they were cherries but there is no evidence of black knot gall which is prevalent here and affects most of our cherry trees. I guess I will know for sure if this tree fruits this year.

cherrycrabmay2014

The unknown cherry or crabapple tree with blooms for the first time.

The Purple Prince Crabapples will also be blooming any day.

purpleprincemay2014

Purple Prince Crabapple blooms

Around the side of the house where I rarely venture, Spice or Clove Currant, Ribes Odoratum, is in full bloom. I can smell those blooms all the way into the house!

fragrantspice

Spice or Clove Currant

On the other (shadier) side of the house, newly acquired Brunnera and Lungwort Pulmonaria are blooming.

Brunnera macrophylla 'Blue' (Heartleaf Alkanet)

Brunnera macrophylla ‘Blue’ (Heartleaf Alkanet)

lungwort

Lungwort

Soon the Dogwood shrubs will be blooming but I am enjoying the emerging leaves of Golden Shadows Pagoda Dogwood! A young tree I planted last year and that the rabbits only nipped a bit.

Golden Shadows Pagoda Dogwood

Golden Shadows Pagoda Dogwood

My older Pagoda Dogwood will have blooms soon, too. I just love the Dogwoods. I just love Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day hosted by Carol at Maydreams Gardens – it makes one stop to smell the flowers even in the middle of mayhem!

Author: Kathy Sturr

Cultivating art, growing soul, and creating plant-based food in the beautiful 1000 Islands, New York and Cedar Key, Old Florida.

10 thoughts on “What’s Boom Boom Blooming

  1. What a lovely tour – and garden! Glad I’m not the only one who has trouble taking plant photos in the wind. I’m in the windy East of the UK, near the coast – and some of my pics have my hand in shot, holding on to some stem or shoot to try to stop it buffeting about – usually with no luck! : )

    • Dear alderandash, I have trouble taking photos regardless of the conditions. Someday I hope to have a real camera and become a better photographer! I abhor the wind but it seems to follow me. Maine was quite windy and I thought when me moved here, “Ah, no more of that Maine wind!”, but I think the wind here is worse! Today it is a downpour. The weather the weather.

  2. Oh how lovely it all looks grand!!! You have a nice collection of plants + well thought out throughout your property:-)

  3. wow you caught up and surpassed me…my serviceberry is dead and I have celadine poppies volunteering too…not sure which they are either….good luck and I hope you are spared the flooding rain coming my way.

    • Oh Donna, so sorry to hear about your Serviceberry. Mine took a long time to even get established. I’m surprised it lived as it was heaved by frost its first two Winters. Now, finally, it is firmly rooted. We are receiving flooding rain today and I have to dig up plants for the Master Gardener plant sale. So much for fun, eh? Hope you are recovering nicely!

  4. Lovely garden and lovely blog!!I’ve just discovered you and mentioned you here – http://eagoodlife.wordpress.com/2014/05/16/looking-a-gift-horse

  5. You are too kind eagoodlife! Thank you so very much. This sure is a real garden with all its imperfections and magic. Wait until I post What’s Growing!

  6. Thank you for the link love. I can’t tell from your photo which of the two celandines you have, either. Good luck with your garden tour! I enjoyed the tour you just gave me!

Thank you for joining me in the making of my garden!

