The Violet Fern

A Colorful Tale of a Garden in the Making

New Visitor!

7 Comments

Imagine my joy at seeing this beauty grace my garden just now …

image

This is not just any Swallowtail, but a Giant Swallowtail! Particularly attracted to native Phlox Maculata or Meadow Phlox (Wild Sweet William).Welcome!

I was cutting some Collards and herbs and the garden for breakfast/brunch, confirmation on how we need to reconnect to Earth and cooking our own food as Robbie of Palm Rae Urban Potager so eloquently explains in her latest post. Oh, the joy to be had when you grow your own!

Author: Kathy Sturr

Cultivating art, growing soul, and creating plant-based food in the beautiful 1000 Islands, New York and Cedar Key, Old Florida.

7 thoughts on “New Visitor!

  1. Congratulations! She’s a beauty!

  2. That is amazing!!!!! I wish you lived next door to me, oh what fun the critters and us would have playing + eating in the garden! 🙂

    • I wish I lived next door to you, too! We could sit in the garden all day and compare butterflies and drink coffee, tea, wine … pause for a garden lunch. it would be so heavenly. We could exchange plants and veggies, too!

  3. Oh what a wonderful surprise!! I saw a tattered one in my garden at about the same time and then it was gone…not much in the way of butterflies this year but of course I have not been out nearly enough and may have missed some ;(

    • This one was a bit tattered. I am surprised to see one so far North but glad for the visit. My sighting is confirmed on Moths and Butterflies of North America! (Exciting.) I have not seen any Monarchs in my garden and just checked the Milkweed again for any signs – none. Lots of bees and flies, however. Lately I am enjoying the Catbird trying to “sneak” strawberries.

  4. My gardening season becomes a success the first day a butterfly comes to the garden. It took about 3 years of selecting the right plants, but I know have Western Yellow Swallowtails that visit regularly…Love your photo.

Thank you for joining me in the making of my garden!

