The Violet Fern

A Colorful Tale of a Garden in the Making

How to Build an Insect Hotel

4 Comments

I am reblogging this post from The Forget-me-not Cultivation Blog on How to Build an Insect Hotel. I will be making one of these in my own garden – I have a spot picked out in the Potager – and have been collecting a few materials. I encourage you to do the same. A wonderful video tutorial and I especially love the idea of the “green” roof! Hope you enjoy and are inspired.

Author: Kathy Sturr

Author of the Violet Fern blog, artist, and master gardener.

4 thoughts on “How to Build an Insect Hotel

  1. Thanks Kathy…I will be looking to do this as well!!

    • Donna, I can’t wait to see it! I’m sure you’ll share on your blog? I built one with the kids at a community garden this summer – what great fun! And in just a few days I saw a green bee exit one of the holes in a log filling.

  2. Great idea. Loved the site, thanks for sharing!

    • I love this idea and I have seen some amazing bug hotels on Pinterest and online that are truly works of art and show pieces in the garden! Glad you enjoyed!

Thank you for joining me in the making of my garden!

