The Violet Fern

A Colorful Tale of a Garden in the Making

Warm Wishes Winter Margarita

14 Comments

Warm wishes to all of you from Cedar Key, Florida. Enjoy this year’s Christmas card complete with a recipe for a warm wishes winter margarita to get you through any kind of weather.

“Don’t matter if your North
Or South of the Equator
You can pour it over ice
Or right from the ‘frigerator
A message in a bottle
A tool to keep cool
Cool Cool Cool
Cool Cool Cool” – Jimmy Buffett

Have a cool yule!

wintermargaritaNC

wintermargaritainsideNC

I prefer a “blanco” tequila. (I actually hate the gasoline taste of José Cuervo – especially gold – blech). We have tried some great tequilas in Mexico and recently at our favorite tiki bar here in Cedar Key. The Low Key Hideaway Tiki Bar has introduced us to Milagro which is packaged in a beautiful bottle with a glass agave inside (perfect for gift giving), and just the other evening, Casa Noble tequila – smooth.

If you really like this card, you can order one or a pack of 20 from Cafe Press:
http://www.cafepress.com/thevioletfern

It is categorized under “Drink Recipe Cards.”

Author: Kathy Sturr

Author of the Violet Fern blog, artist, and master gardener.

14 thoughts on “Warm Wishes Winter Margarita

  1. Merry Christmas Kathy! Enjoy those margaritas….

  2. Happy Holidays… Michelle

  3. Enjoy your tropical Christmas, Kathy!

    • Thank you Eliza. I’m told it was a green Christmas at home – the ultimate insult! To live in the North and not have that picture perfect white Christmas. But I’m sure it made traveling easy for everyone!

      • Yes, we had our holidays reversed. Snow on Thanksgiving and rain on Christmas. Hard to believe all that snow melted. More to come in Jan. I’m sure.

  4. I agree with Eliza-Enjoy your Tropical Christmas + bring back the warm weather when you come home:-) PLEASE!!!! Just not real warm but maybe spring like a bit early this year:-)

  5. It sounds like you are really enjoying Cedar Key this winter. I started reading about it a year or so ago, and I have to admit that it sounds like a wonderful place to visit. Our daughter and her husband live in Ft. Walton Beach, so I’m fairly familiar with the Gulf Coast flora and some of the fauna – but Cedar Key just sounds like a hidden gem. It’s supposed to be a great place to bird, too. One of these days I’m hoping to explore it as well.

    • I am Cynthia, thank you. Cedar Key is wonderfully small and what I love about it, is that it is surrounded by preserve. There is much nature and quiet, open spaces without buildings. So many birds! Dolphins are also a common sight. We hope to do some more kayaking on the waters. I love my home on the St. Lawrence but admit it is more “wild” here. You have to appreciate a small town to stay here, though, which I do. I’m told it gets busier after Christmas and my husband and I are already noticing more people. I am so grateful and thankful to spend winter here this year! I hope you do get to explore it yourself.

  6. Happy New Year! So glad your enjoying the warm weather. We’re having a storm.

    • Hi Kathy! I hope you’re weathering the storm. We’ve been watching the weather there. I can’t wait to garden again! If any of my houseplants survive, are you interested in some?

Thank you for joining me in the making of my garden!

