The Violet Fern

Creating Art & Gardens

Calling All “Instant” Gardeners

2 Comments

Do you follow Instagram? I admit, at first I didn’t quite “get it,” but now I really enjoy it. It’s a constant loop of visual idea-birthing stimuli with little, if any, words so your interpretations are free flowing.

I have been in the garden for the last three days! (So my left shoulder and right wrist say.) I have been purposely carrying my phone around to snap a picture of what’s happening in the garden (that, and I’m waiting to hear about my car that’s in the shop). This daily chronicle is so much fun, especially in the Spring, but I think valuable all year round. I want to discipline myself to see beauty (or not) each day and so I have started taking pictures and posting them on instagram and tagging them #InTheGardenToday. I noticed there is another gardener out there, @maryede39, who also coincidently uses this same hashtag and others have expressed interest in using this hashtag, too. So, I’m thinking let’s invite all gardeners, and all admirers of gardens, to use this hashtag and flood instagram (or any social media) with beautiful photos of gardens and garden happenings – it sounds like fun! What’s happening in your garden? #InTheGardenToday C’mon, don’t be stingy!

Author: Kathy Sturr

Artist, master gardener, plant-based chef. Florida's Nature Coast / Indian River Lakes, NY

2 thoughts on “Calling All “Instant” Gardeners

  1. I wish I had a cell phone….using Instagram without one is quite difficult.

Thank you for joining me in the making of my garden!