The Violet Fern

A Colorful Tale of a Garden in the Making

Christmas in Gulfport

10 Comments

We spent Christmas a little further South of Cedar Key in the cute coastal town of Gulfport. Gulfport is a tiny jewel in the midst of sprawling St. Petersburg. It has a cozy, small downtown feel and views of the Gulf. The houses are kitschy and eclectic. They are smaller, older but snatched up by ambitious owners who rub the genie’s lamp of charm and bring them back into their glory days. Many are for rent and yes, we are staying in one. Take a small tour with me and jingle all the way.

The local hangout is O’Maddy’s and it’s where we spent our Christmas Day Eve with a jolly ol’ crowd singing Christmas carols with the band. It put the fun back into Christmas for me. No preparation, no presents, no fancy food, no glitzy decor … just hey, this place is open on Christmas and is rockin’! Let’s walk right into some cheerful holiday comrade and child-like fun. Even our dog Mojo got into the spirit of things down at O’Maddy’s with its bar side seating open to the Gulf.

Untitled

Untitled

23924435761_b67ee4ce67_o.jpg

There are a slew of salty, tiki bars and restaurants to pick from. All within walking distance from the charming bungalow houses and waterfront condos.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

I wanted to try some Mexican Cantina food here at Peg’s but they are on vacation! Maybe next time …

Untitled

One of my favorite little restaurants is Mangia’s offering the perfect mix of American standard and VEGAN food! It is fresh and delicious with many homemade items including all sorts of delicious hummus such as beet, wonderful soups and salads, and sweet treats for dessert. You can dine inside or al fresco upon this lovely nook of a patio.

23924470431_f76c45305d_o

Post Christmas we dined al fresco here at Pia’s – magnificent Italian fare and large, waxy candle bras to put you in the mood. “Più vino per favore!”

Untitled

Walking is the best mode of transportation here because you can take in all the sites at your own pace. I love the variety in architecture, the secret gardens, artsy decor, and of course live Oaks with Spanish Moss.

Untitled

Untitled

23898812262_1500a45ab9_o.jpg

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

This fa la la la la stroll has me thinking about the New Year, my next steps, the years ahead … how I long to have my own little Southern getaway with its secret garden! … and how to get there from here. For now I am content to soak up the sun and inspiration. I sure hope your holidays were just as merry and bright and that the New Year brings promise of good things to come.

Author: Kathy Sturr

Author of the Violet Fern blog, artist, and master gardener.

10 thoughts on “Christmas in Gulfport

  1. are the reindeer beaded wire?

    • I’m not certain Diana. I haven’t “shopped” Christmas decorations in many years and well, I tried not to get up close and personal out of respect for the homeowners. But I will say, I think they’re tasteful and beautiful decorations. This house also had some magnificent lighting!

      • decorations on the open street side … invite a closer approach. But I wouldn’t go thru a gate. A neighbour has a bead and wire sheep that wanders across her lawn. One day she found a fan had left her a tiny black and white ‘lamb’ to match ;~)

      • Sometimes people can be so great Diana.

  2. Charming! Sounds like a great way to spend the holiday. 🙂 Happy New Year, Kathy!

  3. Thank you Eliza. I hope your holiday was nothing short of great. Happy New Year! I am looking forward to it only because I shouldn’t look back at it ha ha.

  4. What a wonderful get-away! You should write for travel magazines! I want to put this place on my bucket list!!!!

  5. A beautiful dream of a southern garden getaway…and wow has this area grown up. I have not been to the St. Pete area since 1972 when my grandfather died and my grandmother moved here to live near us….they are both buried in St. Pete. I loved visiting them, fishing and having a house on the beach for a week. Maybe someday I will visit again……thanks for sharing this beautiful spot! Merry belated Christmas and Happy New Year Kathy!

    • Oh Donna, the further one goes South in Florida the more populated! I hope you do get back to visit your grandparents and Florida some day. I think you would enjoy Gulfport – a bit busy for me but it still has a “village” feel. I’m not sure if there are any houses on the beach for rent for anything lower than ransom! But it is nice to rent in the village within walking distance of the beach, bars, and restaurants for a reasonable amount. I do love being here, in Cedar Key, but really miss my garden (and my stove ha ha) – I keep flipping through pictures of my garden on my computer but soon – very soon- it’s time to plan for Spring and a New Year! Happy New Year to you!

Thank you for joining me in the making of my garden!

