The Violet Fern

A Colorful Tale of a Garden in the Making

Settlin’ In

2 Comments

After a few days rambling we finally arrived at our winter destination in one of my most favorite places, Cedar Key, FL. We made a few stops along the way — Asheville NC, St. Simon’s Island GA (we enjoyed and will probably stop there again on our travels back and forth), and St. Augustine FL. We actually left St. Augustine a day early. It was really nice there and seeped in history but it was too “city” for us. Too many tourist attractions, busy traffic … just not our thing although I would still recommend a visit to our oldest city in this nation. The old town part of St. Augustine is very fun but be warned, parking is limited. We just couldn’t wait to get to small town, old Florida, peaceful Cedar Key and so we left a day early. Cedar Key is not for everyone either. It is rumoured that once you cross over the No. 4 bridge you are either “welcomed home” or are “looking for more.” I was immediately “welcomed home.”30704300833_2974e6a590Read more …

Author: Kathy Sturr

Author of the Violet Fern blog, artist, and master gardener.

2 thoughts on “Settlin’ In

  1. I must admit I’m a bit envious. 🙂 The compost looks great and how cool they share tools. I bet you’re having a lot of fun!

    • Thank you Eliza. So far no sprouts but I’ve been watering – you know the soil is a little different down here. Yes, I will admit, I am having fun! I picked up some sweet corn (!!!) in the grocery yesterday. It is quite wonderfully strange.

Thank you for joining me in the making of my garden!

