The Violet Fern

A Colorful Tale of a Garden in the Making

The Spirit of Christmas

5 Comments

Untitled

This is our 5th year visiting Cedar Key and although it feels like home to me, that’s five years I haven’t spent Christmas with my immediate family. This year it caught up to me — I have nostalgia and I want “Christmas.” This may be unknown to you, but it certainly isn’t a secret, my husband — whom I love dearly — is a scrooge. I don’t mean just a “bah humbug” kind of scrooge, but a if-I-could-I-would-CANCEL-Christmas scrooge!

No matter I am taking Christmas by the antlers!

Read more …

Author: Kathy Sturr

Cultivating art, growing soul, and creating plant-based food in the beautiful 1000 Islands, New York and Cedar Key, Old Florida.

5 thoughts on “The Spirit of Christmas

  1. I love your white tree! It’s very snowy. 🙂 Lots of cool ornaments, too. Decorating is a walk down Memory Lane, isn’t it? I remember people and places with every ornament. I have so many ornaments that most no longer make it out of the box. Getting older, the things I used to do for decorating seem over the top, so each year it slides a little more.
    I do miss the gathering and food we used to have with my mom, but she has been gone for decades now. My boys aren’t into the holidays at all, sigh. A lot like your spouse. 😉
    I’ve been working as a florist this past month (after years of not doing so) and boy I forgot how exhausting it is! I now remember how most holidays are ruined because one is too tired to enjoy them, alas!
    Our Christmas eve and day will be quiet rest. However, our neighbors (with a large family) have invited us to dinner, so it will be chaotic, noisy and fun for me (I was one of seven so this is normal for me) but my spouse will probably get a headache! ‘Tis the season to be jolly!
    Congrats on the new house – when do you move in or are have you already closed?
    Hope your holidays are delightful, Kathy, no matter what you do. 🙂

    • Thank you Eliza! I haven’t really decorated in years and tomorrow, I will undecorate which will be a good start to a big new year. We close next Friday and will be painting and installing a bamboo floor! I’ve never installed a floor before so looking forward to learning. I am very excited. I am super excited to plan a cute little garden! There is a well for watering – six fruit trees are hooked up on a watering system – just too good to be true. I want to plant a key lime tree so I can make key lime pie with my own limes. Retail does kinda kill the holiday spirit doesn’t it? Either working it or being constantly bombarded with advertisements designed to make one feel inadequate. I had a wonderful Christmas! I was treated to seeing an old friend for the day, unexpectedly. I hope you had a wonderful bustling Christmas and that your spouse’s headache wasn’t too severe (: I bet you make a wonderful florist – I’ve seen your work (; Happy New Year to you Eliza!

Thank you for joining me in the making of my garden!

